Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

The Midlife Club

I'm not sure if that's what all of this is, or if it's just why I'm here.

It's half time. Reaper's up by 6 but there's still another half to play. You feel like you have man in the penalty box just like all the time. And you're not the man you were in the first half. Lots of doors have closed. You burned some bridges, sure. But some...well it's just hard to find sense in saddling up a new horse, you know?

I work for a living, at the end of day I punch a clock just like everyone. Wife is happy, kid is happy. I could just run down the clock. Maintain.

Does anyone else feel like they're not built for that? Looking back, the most meaningful times in my life were when I was struggling. I mean striving for something, eyes on the prize. I was happier eating ramen and studying for my entrance test than I am sitting on my laurels living the life. I felt more -alive- taking my board exam, than I ever have.

People are built to strive, to overcome, to survive. How do you reconcile that need with the stability that comes with midlife?

Kids are nice sure. But even with no kids I still felt like this.

Restless.

Am I the only one?

You’re definitely not the only one. Lots of folks out there with an itch they just can’t scratch.

My advice would be to take up a daily meditation practice. Everyone’s different, but I think I felt more like that before I dealt with a lot of stuff. Learned to really forgive myself and others. Learned to manage anxiety. Meditation encourages me to slow down my inner dialogue, watch my thoughts float by without any attachment. Then I can really decipher what serves me and what doesn’t.

To each their own, but I’m really looking forward to the “second half.” I’m not keeping score. I just try and be present and enjoy both the ups and downs.