Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 133
  1. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    SoOre
    Posts
    618
    Ok Powfolk! I've updated the app in the app store, so if you have it downloaded it should update in the next 24 hours. I changed how the data is loaded so I hope the blank screens are filled with snotel love.

    Any suggestions or thoughts, I'm all ears. I'd like to make this very friendly and worthwhile to use.

    Thanks everyone for the feedback.
    I love my family. Kids are the best.
    http://www.praxisskis.com

  2. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Bellevue
    Posts
    4,169
    I was specifically thinking that since the sensors semi regularly have bad readings that a bit of context would be useful. Just to know is it really 45F or has it been 15 up until an hour ago.
    Also I think on the initial view of the site it would be nice to see temp. Up here the temp can very easily make or break a day.

    I'll look at the update and give some comments again. I really like having this available, last season i spoke to a friend about something like this being useful since ski areas now have their own apps with conditions. Its a way to use the same tools out of the area or catch some of the marketing bs that happens most storm cycles.

  3. #28
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    the ex-Motor City
    Posts
    3,018
    Ap "stops working" after a couple minutes & before I can get to any useful info... HTC thunderbolt running 2.3. Not rooted.
    "Those 1%ers are not an avaricious "them" but in reality the most entrepreneurial of "us". If we had more of them and fewer grandstanding politicians, we would all be better off."
    - Bradley Schiller, Prof. of Economics, Univ. Nevada - Reno.

  4. #29
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    SoOre
    Posts
    618
    Quote Originally Posted by flatNshallow View Post
    Ap "stops working" after a couple minutes & before I can get to any useful info... HTC thunderbolt running 2.3. Not rooted.
    Thanks for the feedback! I think it is a memory issue there. There are over 1700 points being added to the map. Can you try and select BC as your data option and see if that still force closes the app? There are much fewer information markers for BC. That will at least narrow that part down.... Thanks!
    I love my family. Kids are the best.
    http://www.praxisskis.com

  5. #30
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Missoula, MT
    Posts
    18,088
    I like the update, but I still get no sites. Moto Droid Razr HD.
    No longer stuck.

    Quote Originally Posted by stuckathuntermtn View Post
    Just an uneducated guess.

  6. #31
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    SoOre
    Posts
    618
    Quote Originally Posted by stuckathuntermtn View Post
    I like the update, but I still get no sites. Moto Droid Razr HD.
    Can you try the BC data? Change that in the settings.
    I love my family. Kids are the best.
    http://www.praxisskis.com

  7. #32
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Missoula, MT
    Posts
    18,088
    I don't think it worked. Should I download Google Earth separately. Does it need something from that?
    No longer stuck.

    Quote Originally Posted by stuckathuntermtn View Post
    Just an uneducated guess.

  8. #33
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Missoula, MT
    Posts
    18,088
    That wasn't it either.
    No longer stuck.

    Quote Originally Posted by stuckathuntermtn View Post
    Just an uneducated guess.

  9. #34
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    SoOre
    Posts
    618
    Quote Originally Posted by stuckathuntermtn View Post
    That wasn't it either.
    Shoots man. I wonder what is up????????? ERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR. What phone are you using again? I am going to try it on an older device.
    I love my family. Kids are the best.
    http://www.praxisskis.com

  10. #35
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Missoula, MT
    Posts
    18,088
    Droid Razr HD. It's running a recent version of Jelly Bean.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_2013-09-28-20-52-07.jpg 
Views:	156 
Size:	378.8 KB 
ID:	141895

    See where it says Stuart Peak in the upper right, across from the ski area? There's a snotel site there in the real world, but not on my phone. Nor are there any. Android version 4.1.2.
    No longer stuck.

    Quote Originally Posted by stuckathuntermtn View Post
    Just an uneducated guess.

  11. #36
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    SoOre
    Posts
    618
    Man... That should do it. That is a good phone. If u look in a file manager do u see a folder called snoteldata? Is there anything in it?

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using TGR Forums
    I love my family. Kids are the best.
    http://www.praxisskis.com

  12. #37
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Missoula, MT
    Posts
    18,088
    Hm, yes, there's a kml folder in there with a kml file I can open in Earth. Once open, I see a bunch of grey dots (not reporting). Opening Stuart Peak Snotel revealed it's probably reporting since 3" sounds about right for snow depth.
    Opening your app will open a dialog that says data loading, then it zooms in on my location, but no dots. There's also a usdata.zip. It's all in local storage, not sd card.
    I can't find any settings that would be preventing this from syncing data.
    Yeah, everything's a fucking disaster with me.
    No longer stuck.

    Quote Originally Posted by stuckathuntermtn View Post
    Just an uneducated guess.

  13. #38
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    SoOre
    Posts
    618
    Quote Originally Posted by stuckathuntermtn View Post
    Hm, yes, there's a kml folder in there with a kml file I can open in Earth. Once open, I see a bunch of grey dots (not reporting). Opening Stuart Peak Snotel revealed it's probably reporting since 3" sounds about right for snow depth.
    Opening your app will open a dialog that says data loading, then it zooms in on my location, but no dots. There's also a usdata.zip. It's all in local storage, not sd card.
    I can't find any settings that would be preventing this from syncing data.
    Yeah, everything's a fucking disaster with me.
    Haha. Well I'm hoping this winter isn't a disaster. Just a thought... in the "settings" area is USA selected? Thanks again for all the feedback. It realllllllllly helps!
    I love my family. Kids are the best.
    http://www.praxisskis.com

  14. #39
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Missoula, MT
    Posts
    18,088
    Yes it is. And I'm a trainwreck.
    No longer stuck.

    Quote Originally Posted by stuckathuntermtn View Post
    Just an uneducated guess.

  15. #40
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    SoOre
    Posts
    618
    If you have the SnoTel app installed from the App Store, you should get an update this evening. I rewrote the entire thing and made sure it ran on an old Android 2.3.7 device. Thanks everyone for the comments so far. It has been a huge help.

    I hope this update solves all these issues.

    There were memory problems with the amount of markers being added to the map. I switched up how this is loaded as well as how things are added to the local storage.
    I love my family. Kids are the best.
    http://www.praxisskis.com

  16. #41
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Couloirfornia
    Posts
    8,183
    Sick dude. Looking forward to checking out the update.
    Quote Originally Posted by Ernest_Hemingway View Post
    I realize there is not much hope for a bullfighting forum. I understand that most of you would prefer to discuss the ingredients of jacket fabrics than the ingredients of a brave man. I know nothing of the former. But the latter is made of courage, and skill, and grace in the presence of the possibility of death. If someone could make a jacket of those three things it would no doubt be the most popular and prized item in all of your closets.

  17. #42
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    SoOre
    Posts
    618
    Lets hope this is it!

    Sent from my Droid using TGR Forums
    I love my family. Kids are the best.
    http://www.praxisskis.com

  18. #43
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    SoOre
    Posts
    618
    Looks like it published if you want to give it a shot. Go to the play store and click my apps. It should show in updates area.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using TGR Forums
    I love my family. Kids are the best.
    http://www.praxisskis.com

  19. #44
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Missoula, MT
    Posts
    18,088
    It works!
    No longer stuck.

    Quote Originally Posted by stuckathuntermtn View Post
    Just an uneducated guess.

  20. #45
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Couloirfornia
    Posts
    8,183
    Works for me too. Good job dude.
    Quote Originally Posted by Ernest_Hemingway View Post
    I realize there is not much hope for a bullfighting forum. I understand that most of you would prefer to discuss the ingredients of jacket fabrics than the ingredients of a brave man. I know nothing of the former. But the latter is made of courage, and skill, and grace in the presence of the possibility of death. If someone could make a jacket of those three things it would no doubt be the most popular and prized item in all of your closets.

  21. #46
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    SoOre
    Posts
    618
    Quote Originally Posted by stuckathuntermtn View Post
    It works!
    Ahhh! That is so nice to hear.
    I love my family. Kids are the best.
    http://www.praxisskis.com

  22. #47
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    SoOre
    Posts
    618
    Now to see the data change when winter begins!

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using TGR Forums
    I love my family. Kids are the best.
    http://www.praxisskis.com

  23. #48
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    SoOre
    Posts
    618
    Thanks man. What device are you using if u don't mind sharing?

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using TGR Forums
    I love my family. Kids are the best.
    http://www.praxisskis.com

  24. #49
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    SoOre
    Posts
    618
    Quote Originally Posted by abraham View Post
    I was specifically thinking that since the sensors semi regularly have bad readings that a bit of context would be useful. Just to know is it really 45F or has it been 15 up until an hour ago.
    Also I think on the initial view of the site it would be nice to see temp. Up here the temp can very easily make or break a day.

    I'll look at the update and give some comments again. I really like having this available, last season i spoke to a friend about something like this being useful since ski areas now have their own apps with conditions. Its a way to use the same tools out of the area or catch some of the marketing bs that happens most storm cycles.
    Man, I need to get temperature in there for sure.
    I love my family. Kids are the best.
    http://www.praxisskis.com

  25. #50
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Beer:30
    Posts
    5,225
    It worked for me once after the update. Now it crashes after about 30 seconds again. I can see the Snotel stations before it crashes, at least, so it's working better than it did before.

    The one time it worked, I briefly had a chance to look at some of the functionality. I definitely may have missed it, but I didn't see any easy link to tabulated, hourly data for each site. This I think would be SUPER helpful. I always look at the tabulated data to see how much it snowed in the last 12/24/however many hours. I don't use Snotel data as much for current conditions, more for trends and recent history.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •