First bike race tomorrow- Any pointers?

I'm riding in my first mountain bike race tomorrow. It's a 10 mile XC race. Any tips for a JONG?

pedal your ass off.
    go for rob

www.dpsskis.com

Sharp elbows...

Sent from my SCH-I405 using TGR Forums

bacon wrapped bananas = nature's powerbar.

Don't forget to shave those oz with the pre race bowel movement

sent from the future using my mind powers
    Best Skier on the Mountain
    Self-Certified
    1992 - 2012
    Squaw Valley, USA

Really good advice so far.

As a certified Coach, my advice would be to start out as fast as you can and then try to build from there. When you throw up a little in your mouth, back off a hair (so you can gasp freely without choking on your throwup) and try to maintain it right there until the last couple of miles where you want to ramp it back up to throwup level. Finish. Puke. Grab a beer and party.

Pain is temporary, glory lasts forever etc. etc.

Enjoy.

Coach

Holeshot

When you have to get in the chute at the start, you will need to size up the rest of the field. Check out who is looking fit and strong, who's riding a sweet bike, who seems relaxed, who seems most nervous. This is all useful information for the race. But what you really need to focus on is who looks toughest.

Find that guy who looks the toughest and just sucker punch him and then give him a couple kicks with your cleats once he's down on the ground. That way you'll establish your cred and everyone else will know not to fuck with you.

This is all really good stuff, all true, even from coach and sirshreds, and the elbow comment. All true. Nice guys finish last, or close to it.

I offer this- It's only ten miles, warm up like fuck, be sweating at the start, ride for at least 30 minutes before the race, easy spinning.

Attack from the back, sit in and jump some poor sap with 300 meters to go, if it's a beginner race you may actually win it.

Carry a chain breaker and TWO quik links.