Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

"Near Death" experiences from your past.

Hello All,

Perhaps this has been covered before, I could not find a thread via the search...

What is the most intense situation you have been in while at the mountain? Ever had an experience where it could have gone either way, life or death?

Mine went a bit like this and the heart rate still elevates when I think about it...

It was 1991, I was a senior about to graduate from High School. I'd been skiing since I was in late grade school, and thought I was the next best thing to "Scot Schmidt"...My home mountain was Mount Hood Meadows :. As many know, not the most extreme resort out there. Well, I finally got to get off hood\flatchelor, and convinced the family to take a trip to Utah. This was my first trip to a real resort, Alta and Snowbird were to be the focus. One of my long time ski buddies came along, and was equally as stoked. We were to take our "extreme" skills to the "big" mountain...