Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

The "Lower the Drinking Age" movement

I am all for it.. - If you are old enough to join the military and kill people, you are old enough to handle drinking.

And if you are old enough to handle drinking, then you are certainly capable of killing people.

I think they should have link to WebMD Fetal Alcohol Syndrome too. You are just never too young to imbibe firewater.
    Every man dies. Not every man lives.
    You don’t stop playing because you grow old; you grow old because you stop playing.

As long as you're not doing all at the same time.
    I dunno, I work in the booze industry and am not sure it's that neat of an idea. Both that is.

I am old enough to have lived in the 18+ age, and it was no big deal. What say our non-American mags?

World drinking ages
    16-18
    Belgium
    China
    Denmark
    France
    Germany
    Italy
    Netherlands
    Spain
    Thailand

Australia
    Bahamas
    Brazil
    Czech Republic
    Ireland
    Mexico
    New Zealand
    Puerto Rico
    Romania
    Singapore
    South Africa
    Sweden
    United Kingdom

18-19
    Canada

I agree with the movement entirely. Lowering the drinking age would bring our communities closer together. Right now its impossible to have mixed events with adults and minors if alcohol is involved because of the threat of legal retribution to all parties involved. Minors go off and drink by themselves. Adults drink by with themselves. Its segregation by age and it has consequences that are negative to cohesive communities.

The drinking age has always been silly, has never worked, and I've never gotten over the idea that I was once 18, 19, 20, living on my own, paying my own bills, being responsible and yet not legally able to consume a bottle of beer.

Finally it does nothing to deter irresponsible alcohol use in my eyes and so it is pointless.

BLOOD SWEAT STEEL Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveTV View Post