Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Surf Kayaking Questions

Posted this up in the kayak forum, didn't get any replies. Maybe its better suited for this forum.

So I want to take my kayak (wavesport EZ) surf kayaking this week in Long Island. I have no experience surf kayaking at all, but I do surf a bit so I understand how to catch waves.

What technique is used to get out, and through the waves when they are breaking?

My real only worry is getting a wave and having it break on top of me.

What should I be aware of, so I don't head up smashing my end into the ocean floor?

Any tips would be awesome, surf kayaking looks incredible I want to get into it.

Any Surf Kayakers in LI that wanna go out, give me a pm.
    -YeM

Go here, speak nicely to the landlord and ask whether surfers want to share the line up with kayaks.
    Last edited by Shorey; 08-13-2007 at 02:13 PM.
    Not around much these days.

1. Stay away from surfers. You may have someone on LI that is connected and they will have you killed.

2. Should be pretty small out. It is LI after all. Unless there is a 'Cainne or Nor'easter around. So you can paddle straight out, just like a surfer. Hit up a channel if they exist.

3. Keep your boat perpendicular to breaking waves. The kayak gets pushed from the side.

4. Head out toward Fire Island or Hamptons. Look on a map. There are some good inlets out there that have sand point set ups. Better for kayaks, and surfing when it is good. See step number #1.

5. Aim in the direction of the peel, paddle in, use paddle to turn and stabalize.

Good luck, but just buy a surfboard for when it is bigger than knee high.

And behind Hilton Head Island (SC) is awesome kayaking... and Maine.

You're from Saratoga? Go to Rhode Island. Point Judith or the M----------- point across the inlet west from Judith.

the emphasis is definitely on #1.

longboarders like surfkayakers though, because all of sudden they're not the lowest on the totem pole when a kayaker paddles out.