best RAW photo program?

I just got back from the KW comp and now I have a bunch of .NEF images that I can't deal with! Oops.

I've been thinking of springing for Lightroom or Aperture but I'm unsure which one to go for. I currently use iPhoto and Photochop CS to deal with all my images but I'm definitely no pro when it comes to image tweaking.

Any helpful hints (besides Astropax's workflow!!! ) and pros/cons of Lightroom and Aperture are most appreciated.

Edit: Oh yeah, if it makes any difference I'm shooting a Nikon D200 and using a iBook w/ 1.25gb of RAM
    Putting the "core" in corporate, one turn at a time.

Metalmücil 2010 - 2013 "Go Home" album is now a free download

The Bonin Petrels

Exclamation

I have been using Capture nx. I have no experience with the other programs you mentioned(have had good luck with ufraw and Gimp) but after scouring many photo websites it seems that the consensus is that it's the best for raw conversion. The program itself is slow but very intuitive and easy to use, activation codes are easy to find if you want to go the nefarious route.

I use Pshop and the Camera Raw plugin. It's always worked fine for me but the only thing I've compared it to is gimp/ufraw and I seemed to get better pics out of Pshop.

Try downloading the Adobe beta of Photoshop CS3 (free, for now....) with the improved camera raw - it's sweet. Bridge is dramatically faster now as well. Now to get the $400 for the upgrade :cry:

Lightrooms actually affordable.
    Elvis has left the building

Lightroom...

BTW. Hop, don't cha qualify for educational license (you did work for the Uni, didn't cha). So Lightroom is like 99 bucks. And the smaller Creative Suite 3 is like ~200 and not considerably more than Photoshop CS3 (again educational license).
    Quote Originally Posted by RootSkier
    You should post naked pictures of this godless heathen.