Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Car mags: breaking in an engine?

so we just got a new vehicle, while on the phone with my Grandfather he mentioned that you should never drive a new car over 50 mph during the first 500 miles so you break the engine in properly.

I'm not a mechanical person, and neither is he but is he right?

I was kinda hoping to roadtrip this weekend and not being able to drive over 50 mph would really suck
    For sure, you have to be lost to find a place that can't be found, elseways everyone would know where it was

I think the rule of thumb is don't go over 40 mph for the first 1000 miles.

Modern engines are built to tighter specifications than when "break-ins" were standard fare. Anymore its just avoid full-throttle accelerations and vary your speed for the first 500 to 1000 miles. Lets face it, most engines turn the same RPMs at 70 as they do at 40 due to taller gearing. Its more important to run the engine through the range of normal operation without getting into the upper RPMS, and many manufacturers claim no break in is needed. (How did you drive the demo car?)

RTFM

"It is not the result that counts! It is not the result but the spirit! Not what - but how. Not what has been attained - but at what price.
    - A. Solzhenitsyn

Quote Originally Posted by Pope Benedict XVI View Post
    I think the rule of thumb is don't go over 40 mph for the first 1000 miles.

no no no! You have to push it for at least 1500 miles... Backwards!!!

alternately...
    "Those 1%ers are not an avaricious "them" but in reality the most entrepreneurial of "us". If we had more of them and fewer grandstanding politicians, we would all be better off."
    - Bradley Schiller, Prof. of Economics, Univ. Nevada - Reno.

its got nothing to do with vehicle speed.

engine break in periods are much shorter and almost nonexistent compared to older ones.

Keep the engine under 3000rpm for the first 1000 miles.