How is being on ski patrol?

I am interested in the possibility of doing ski patrol next season. For those that have done ski partol give me the good bad and the ugly.

Paging SheRa....
    "All God does is watch us and kill us when we get boring. We must never, ever be boring."

Volunteer or Pro? You've got a full apprentice year ahead of you before you're a patroller.

speaking of which...

Does anyone know of a woman named Cody M. who is from California and was a junior ski patroller when she was in high school? I knew of her in high school, but I didn't ski back then, so I'm wondering if she's now some awesome ripper or something. Would be interesting to reconnect with a common ground.

Thanks!
    -dg
    bc-lovah

I do it at lake louise up here in the great white north. I am not a pro, I just do volly. The people are pretty laid back unlike some hills where everybody is on a mission. I could not afford a seasons pass and I have no avy skills for BC so it was logical that I join up if I wanted to get any snow time. I get a season's pass for louise, I am doing the RAC course next month for cheap cheap and I get to ski almost the whole day that I patrol. So far so good, I have to do 3 weekend days a month and the rest of the time is my own so not bad.
    Like I said, the people that I have met so far are cool, not some hill nazis that are hoping and waiting for somebody to get injured or to duck a rope. I think that this makes the difference. If the patrollers are waaaaay too keen then I would suggest finding an alternative arrangement.

I am not sure how things work in amurika but this is my experience.

Post the question on powder and Redskea might see it. She's a Pro patrol at Lake Louise who's also patrol back in N.Z.

Oarhead- you probably know her and her freind "Red".