Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Vancouver area Mags

Hey everyone, I've been seeing a number of threads in the ski/snowboard forum hijaked by Vancouver mags realizing others are from Vancouver. So, I figured it best to just make a thread of our own. There are a lot of conversations that are dealing with "I'm just getting into the backcountry...", so why doesn't everyone put up a little post saying a little something about themselves, and add a little something about their backcountry experience.

To TGR forum people, is there any way we could add a search field in the members list that allows us to search by location? It would be a nice easy way for people joining the forum to find people from their hometowns.

So anyways, may as well start...

I'm currently at UBC studying 4th year Engineering. I have taken a basic weekend avy course by Canada West Mountain School two years ago, but haven't been able to pony up the cash for all of the required equipment. Since I'll be studying pretty hard this winter semester, I will only be wanting to do weekend trips, and maybe something more substantial during the UBC reading week. I'm currently living in Europe on a co-op exchange work term, and will be returning to Vancouver just before New Years.

Oh, and for all those people who opened this for no real reason... here's some summertime Chamonix eyecandy for you from earlier this year:
    "Who's the chump doing 140kph in the fast lane!!?" - German autobahns kick ass!

Might as well add.
    3rd year UBC student. I have a fair amount of backcountry experience and am always looking for new places to explore. Some hut trips, fissile are the two big ticket items I have on the backcountry checklist for this year. I really like to compete in big mountain comps just never seem to have the time to go to more than one a year. That's why this year my second semester will allow at least 4 days of skiing a week plus pow days and comp days.