Tuning Newbie Questions

I’m new to the ski maintenance thang. Got some good tips from Dipstick’s thread, but I’ve got two newbie questions:

1 - How do you find the existing (or original) base and side bevels? Is 0.5 typical for a base bevel?

2 - What happens when you have the wrong type of wax for the snow conditions? Like soft wax on cold-hard snow, and visa versa, hard wax on warm-wet snow. There is a lot of info about waxing correctly but not much about the consequences of screwing it up.

There is chart of the manufacturers suggested edge bevels on tognar.com I do believe. As far as using the wrong wax, you'll go slow. If you are new to waxing, and just skiing for fun, you'll reap the benefits of using a toko or swix all temp wax, the Swix F4 hard wax ironed/scraped/and brushed is usually fast for recreatin purposes in all conditions. Don't forget that base structure etc, will take part in how well a ski glides. If you are completely new to waxing and want to use temp specific waxes, try the Toko 3 wax line, its easy to learn. if you ski a lot of pow, and it's really cold use some toko x cold powder or Swix CH3 every once and again mixed in with the wax of the day.

1deg and 1deg is pretty standard for most skis, unless they are race or carvers, or atomics...I think.

Try hot scraping your skis a bunch of times with cheap soft or semi-soft wax. Like 10 times. It will give you plenty of practice scraping and cure your bases so they are ready for a conditions based wax.
    ROBOTS ARE EATING MY FACE.