Grand Canyon Questions

So my kid is starting junior high next year and we are trying to plan something nice just before school starts this fall. I am thinking floating the Grand Canyon fits the bill. Has anyone here ever done this with a 12 year old? He's an athletic kid and a decent swimmer, but he has never done any rafting at all. I've always wanted to do a full canyon float in a dory, but schedule and funds will limit us to either a half canyon oar trip or a full canyon motorized. Any idea what would be a better option of these?

I am by no means a rafting expert but I'd never recommend a GC trip for a first time rafter, regardless of age. How about Westwater, Ruby Horsethief or something more moderate but still awesome?

That said, I have never done the GC. I could be mistaken in perceiving it as much bigger/committing than something like 7-8 days at Desolation/San Juan which I am familiar with.

I have a 12 year old and am very interested in this thread as this is at #1 on my bucket list
    "fuck off you asshat gaper shit for brains fucktard wanker." - Jesus Christ
    "She was tossing her bean salad with the vigor of a Drunken Pop princess so I walked out of the corner and said.... "need a hand?"" - Odin
    "everybody's got their hooks into you, fuck em....forge on motherfuckers, drag all those bitches across the goal line with you." - (not so) ill-advised strategy

If you are doing a guided trip a 12 year old will enjoy the hell out of it. If it were me I would opt for the 1/2 oar trip VS a motor trip. Phantom to Diamond?
    @Danno, ever read the Emerald Mile? Good book about the Ditch.
    I have been in this State for 30 years and I am willing to admit that I am part of the problem.

"Happiest years of my life were earning < $8.00 and hour, collecting unemployment every spring and fall, no car, no debt and no responsibilities. 1984-1990 Park City UT"

Yeah, I have read that, great book.