NYE Fatality Breckinridge

What we have here is an intelligence failure. You may be familiar with staring directly at that when shaving. .
    -Ottime
    One man can only push so many boulders up hills at one time.
    -BMillsSkier

Just horrible. Second father-kid in a week. All are tragic, but this seems to be the worst situation. Heart breaking. RIP

Fack. Rip. I presume no bc gear. Sad

Awful

https://www.cbsnews.com/colorado/new...hern-colorado/

Nick Feinstein, son of the UNC President. These aren't new folks to CO.

Where are we missing in the awareness messaging?
    Quote Originally Posted by blurred
    skiing is hiking all day so that you can ski on shitty gear for 5 minutes.

Quote Originally Posted by summit View Post

Oh wow, horrible - I graduated from there last year.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Human nature? Avalanche classes have really begun to emphasize the decision making and how people think. IMO a part of the problem is that most people think it won't happen to them.

Sorry to hear this. Hang in there you are doing good work.
    I have been in this State for 30 years and I am willing to admit that I am part of the problem.

"Happiest years of my life were earning < $8.00 and hour, collecting unemployment every spring and fall, no car, no debt and no responsibilities. 1984-1990 Park City UT"

That gate on Peak 10 is so easily accessed and heavily patronized. Perhaps it needs more alarmist messaging? Mandatory beacon check to be able to open the gate?

Quote Originally Posted by mattyTru View Post
    That gate on Peak 10 is so easily accessed and heavily patronized. Perhaps it needs more alarmist messaging? Mandatory beacon check to be able to open the gate?
    Well, folks would just go around the gate..
    "True love is much easier to find with a helicopter"

Quote Originally Posted by Hacksaw View Post
    Well, folks would just go around the gate..
    Force the 5 newest yellow jackets to take turns manning the gate.