Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

What ski am I? Quiver of One, 100's underfoot

Just starting to gather info on a new ski, purchase not necessarily imminent (but maybe?). I have zero knowledge about current skis.

Currently on an old Rossi S3 as my every day ski and fucking love them. But they are ~10 years old and the swiss cheese cores won't last forever. Plus, if I do any "bigger" trips, or a cat/heli trip, I want/need a ski that is wider than 98 underfoot. But honestly, there is also nothing about the S3 that I am looking to improve upon, other than width.

They are everything I was hoping for as a result of this thread many years ago: https://www.tetongravity.com/forums/...90-s-underfoot and the Blister review is spot on. The Blister review also explains why it's not so easy as just getting the S7 (which probably doesn't exist in the same form anyway).

• it seems like one of the surest bets in skiing: when in doubt, you can grab an S3 and you’re probably going to have a good time, and depending on the terrain and the conditions, maybe even a great time
    • versatile, all-terrain, amazing floatation [I’d add: for a 98mm ski], functional, lightweight, instant speed control [i.e., they’re easy to scrub off speed], maneuverable, easy-to-steer, forgiving, quick, agile…an “all-mountain powder ski.”
    • an outstanding carver . . . for a tip and tail rockered ski.
    • the Rossignol S3 is a fun, forgiving, quick, playful, versatile ski that will make beginners and intermediates more confident, yet will still allow advanced and expert skiers to have a blast,