Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Mountain Biking In Perú

This thread is intended to be a primer about the mountain bike scene in Perú. The original conversation started in this thread.
    https://www.tetongravity.com/forums/...aca-Puebla-too

I think this is a better place. I have been riding in Perú since 2001, and the scene has matured to the point that I would like to get groups together to ride there. The riding varies from upper-intermediate to as agro as you want. There are very, very few ‘purpose built’ trails, but there are a million miles of single track that are not on any map.
    This is a little long, but will give you a great visual representation of some typical trails that you would ride in/above the Sacred Valley, near Cusco.

Please feel free to ask any pertinent questions, and we will see where this thread leads!

In my mind, experiencing riding in Perú right now is magical. It is in it’s ‘golden age’, kind of like living in JH in the late 80’s early 90’s. Extremely few people, unlimited terrain. Enough local riders that trails are being discovered and improved, (there are only a few thousand riders in the entire country) but such light traffic that there are absolutely no braking bumps yet. No ATV’s, and basically no recreational motos.
    The altitude keeps a lot of people away, as well as the difficulty of the trails and navigating them. Poking around on your own would be ok if you lived there, but you would waste a lot of time exploring without a guide, IME.

The lodging and restaurant infrastructures are obviously well established, due to Macchu Picchu and other tourist activity. It is also still relatively cheap for foreigners, but it is not immune to global inflation, of course.
    Last edited by rideit; 12-01-2023 at 02:04 AM.
    Forum Cross Pollinator, gratuitously strident

If someone was ever organizing an intermediate trip I would be interested.
    "fuck off you asshat gaper shit for brains fucktard wanker." - Jesus Christ