Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

traveling to europe with a smart phone...how exactly?

it sounds like "get a sim card" is the advice i see most often -- what exactly is involved with that? any pitfalls to consider?
    expecting to use mapping, phone, texting & web browser...

how to you install it & adjust settings for travel?

how do you uninstall it & adjust settings when back home?

i've got an iphone, if that affects the answers...

thanks!

I am not an expert on this, but the couple times I've done it, I just used my regular phone without changing anything. Assuming yours is a newer phone, it'll work fine. It's just a matter of sorting out your phone plan with your provider; figure out how much it's gonna cost you to use the phone on roaming. Maybe switch plans as needed. I (with Verizon) would pay a daily fee that was slightly outrageous, but not outrageous enough for me to not do it for a 10 day trip. Also keep in mind that wifi is everywhere now and it doesn't cost anything extra to use it.

I had friends that got sim cards, and while it's cheaper, it's also not super useful for a lot of things because now you have a new phone number. So anyone texting you or calling you isn't getting through unless they know your number. And if you text or call someone, you're doing so from a random new phone number, so they usually think it's spam. And that means you'll end up switching your sim card back and forth in your phone a lot. New sim card when you're out and about, and then when you get to wifi, you'll switch your "home" sim card back in so you can talk / text like normal. That all seemed like a huge pain the ass for me, so I didn't bother.

gonna be gone 3wks, all in UK
    wifi only will not be useful for navigating by car or calling folks

verizon says $100 for a month of service in Europe

i see things like: EE UK with an unlimited data SIM for £35 (+/-$40) for a month + per min charge for outgoing calls