Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

base layer: any converted from Capilene to Wool? and viceversa?

have always been using the zip-neck Capilene mid-weight (NOT the thermal weight). Due to the unbearable stink i was about to try something else, then i was gifted with the new Capilene with some odor-resistant tech, and it has been fantastic.
    I had tried wool for running and found myself soaked as never been with synthetic base layer. So i am not sure i understand the love for wool when ski-touring.
    Has there anyone who loved Capilene and now uses just wool?
    or has anyone done the opposite trip, moving from wool to capilene?
    or would you suggest some hybrid synthetic/wool?
    last: what wool weight would be comparable to Capilene mid-weight?
    thanks

You should check out the new-ish fishnet style wool baselayers that breathe much better than traditional wool, like these https://skimo.co/brynje-super-thermo-shirt

I've been using only merino wool for skiing for roughly 15 years. I use lightweight ~150 grams/sq meter wool if I'm doing anything active or it is warmish. I use 200 grams per meter if I'm doing active stuff in cold weather (colder than 20 degrees f) and I use 250 grams per meter for cold (less than 20 f) lift skiing.

Mid layers and outer layers matter too. I only want to be in very breathable mid layers if I'm touring. I prefer primaloft alpha. Unless it is absolutely nuking I don't want goretex outer layers if I'm active.

RE: your running comment- I am a massive fan of merino wool, but I very much dislike it for summer activities like running or biking. It is too warm for me.

Merino for lift served and plastic for touring. I sweat a lot when skinning uphill and the wool just holds that moisture, which then leads me to get cold during transitions.