Bone records, punk music

Inspired by the old fucks sharing memories of shows I didn't exist for, the what was your first record thread, the war in Ukraine, and going to my first show in 2 years.

I started learning about music, mostly by unsupervised wandering on the internet. It was a strange time anchored in my memory by 9/11 for whatever reason. I remember hanging around reading totse, reading about bomb making and having a weird feeling I shouldn't be there. Napster and limewire were expanding friends' music collections but I didn't know what I wanted to listen to. Many blogs didn't embed songs but instead had mp3s files to download then listen to.

One of the most fascinating blogs was a guy who collected Soviet and post Soviet punk music. It was a window into a scene I didn't know anything about. For 5? 15? 20? bucks you could get a shipment with a random assortment of bone records. Would you know any of the bands? Of course not. Would they be good? I don't think that was the point. Did I have a record player? No. Did I trust sending money to a stranger on the internet and having a package mailed to my parents? Fuck no, there was anthrax in the mail. Did I even have a way to send money? Probably not. So I never got them.

What are bone records? Black market records made on x-ray film, Also called music on ribs. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ribs_(recordings)
    Medical X-rays, purchased or picked out of the trash from hospitals and clinics, were used to create the recordings. The X-rays were cut into 7-inch discs and the center hole was burned into the disc with a cigarette. According to Russian music critic and rock journalist Artemy Troitsky, "grooves were cut [at 78rpm] with the help of special machines (made, they say, from old phonographs by skilled conspiratorial hands)"; he added that the "quality was awful, but the price was low, a ruble or a ruble and a half." The disks could be played five to ten times.