Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Boot Weight Weenies. Do they actually exist?

Does anyone actually care what their boots weigh? Like, after you know enough about the weight to decide it is in a certain category, do you actually care? Beyond skimotards does someone actually buy one boot over another because it weighs 50g less? There seems to be so much emphasis on weight from manufacturers but it doesn't match up with real life. Case in point, the success of hojis boots.

I sell boots for a living and I average one person per year who actually asks what a boot weighs. Keep in mind, I am talking about boots that are actually made for skiing and not strictly uphill travel.

I bought my last boots in part because they weighed more than another option - figured they had more beef and might last longer...

I think if you where at "ski uphill" yes, you would get gram counters. As we are in skiing towns, and / or ski hills, nope. I get 1/month that is asking questions like that. I send them away as that is not the market we have/going for.

Boot Weight Weenies. Do they actually exist?

I already know the weights by the time I’m actually at a shop to try them on or take an in-person look. And yes I care.
    Well maybe I'm the faggot America
    I'm not a part of a redneck agenda

Very few of my customers care what their boots weigh. Once they decide on a category, it's all pretty close. I don't sell much to the skimo crowd, but they do care.
    Sawatch is French for scratchy.

Because I am getting older, weight will be a big factor in the next pair of tech boots I buy. Current boots are a bit under 1.5 kg. Next boots will need to loose at least 200g

Quote Originally Posted by GoldenBC View Post