Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Grand Traverse... What have I gotten myself into?

So I finally pulled the trigger on a Grand Traverse registration this year. Won't be racing to place high, just going out with a goal of finishing. I have extensive backcountry experience, but most of the tours have been to score good snow and rip fun lines. A few endurance events, but nothing much beyond half marathons. Certainly never anything approaching the 12+ hour sufferfest that is the GT.

While I feel relatively confident in physical ability if I can sustain a training plan over the next few months, I'm a little unsure of how to approach this from a gear perspective. Current setup is geared more towards the down than the up, so I'm guessing I've got to look into a smaller/lighter setup for the race. I imagine getting it done on a traditional AT setup is doable, but not recommended?

Looking for some advice on how to plan for this... Do I need to go ultralight everything or are there certain pieces of gear (boots being the obvious answer) that may help this experience suck just a little bit less?

Any other tips and tricks from those that have completed the race?
    go upside down.

Haven't done it, don't want to. But yeah, you'll want a setup just for this to make it more enjoyable. I never see anyone on setups that look fun to ski. There aren't many turns to be had other than off Star Pass.

I've run aid stations and have a lot of friends who've done it over the years.

You see young tough guys doing it on 1500-2000g skis, 500g bindings and midweight boots, but a vast majority have gone at least sub-1200g ski, sub-300g and sub-1200g boots (with many in full skimo setups). I think you need to weigh your ability to train/prepare and thus use heavier gear vs the desire to finish and finish happily. If you can't stack the bricks to have a big day on heavier gear, I'd find a way to save weight.