Anyone Riding Newer RS Super Deluxe?

I have been riding Fox rear suspension for 15 years now, but my Zeb has been a revelation. Thinking about a Super Deluxe and Pike for the Element I have on order. I love the ‘damp’ feeling of an X2 (when not running coil). Does anyone have insights on the personality of the RS vs., say, a DPX2 or the newer Float? I understand I might want more ‘pop’ with a 120mm rear, but I also want comfort…
    Forum Cross Pollinator, gratuitously strident

I'm currently on a Super Deluxe and Pike from 2020 and have been happy overall (on a Revel Rascal). I'm not sure how much of it is the awesomeness of the CBF suspension platform but it feels damp when you want it and poppy when you want it. Overall I try to be a set it and forget it type of person with suspension and after initial setup I did not touch my settings on the Pike or SD for about a year of riding until bike park season started when I began bottoming out a lot more, so that's a testament to its consistency I guess. Volume spacers helped with bottom outs but I don't feel I've gotten the rear air pressure exactly where I want it since I put them in. I also run the rear at a pretty slow rebound especially on jump lines since I found it could get a little bucky when the shock heats up towards the bottom of a long descent. So it was really just the bike park that made me start fiddling with my suspension, and a lot of that is a product of being on a relatively short travel bike for park standards

I have ridden a few laps on a new X2 but on a totally different bike so I can't give you too good of a comparison. I'll let someone pickier than me weigh in, but in general I've always been partial to Fox and I'm totally happy with my current RS setup
    Quote Originally Posted by other grskier View Post
    well, in the three years i've been skiing i bet i can ski most anything those 'pro's' i listed can, probably