2022 Bike for Wife....suggestion needed

Hey Mags. I recently started riding and purchased a Hightower. Then...a Giant STP 20 followed for my just turn 6 son. Mom envisions days off work riding local trails here in the RFV with me, or weekends with the kids, plus extending our camping season with trips to Moab and Fruita when the resort is closed in April, May and November.

She is 5'6", 35 and 120lbs. When she started skiing again after taking 20 years off, she was pretty timid, but a couple seasons later and she is starting to enjoy going fast, hits some small jumps with the kids, and competes with our son on who can ski the most blacks for the first time.

That info may seem irrelevant, but meant it more understanding that she probably isn't going to be bombing down Snowmass bike park and hitting jumps, but probably will be doing more then just XC on flat trails. As for uphill, I will most likely be trying to keep up to her before long.

I was thinking an aluminum hardtail with a decent air spring fork and either a dropper post or the ability to easily add one. 1x up front and she will be on flat pedals. I would kind of prefer not junk as she made a comment about me buying myself a nice bike and her crap, but I also don't want to spend the money for full suspension. Max budget is $2500...happy to spend less though if it does make sense to pay that much for a hardtail.

Thanks for any help!
    "We had nice 3 days in your autonomous mountain realm last weekend." - Tom from Austria (the Rax ski guy)

Buy whatever you can find that fits her, right now is not the time to picky.
    what's orange and looks good on hippies?
    fire

rails are for trains
    If I had a dollar for every time capitalism was blamed for problems caused by the government I'd be a rich fat film maker in a baseball hat.

www.theguideshut.ca

The obvious answer: Ibis Exie. Don't be a cheap skate with your wife!!!
    It makes perfect sense...until you think about it.