Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Whos the go-to company to build a computer?

I need to build up a simple PC, with specific specs. Newegg? Local mom and pop?

Can you share your specific specs?

Prebuilt these days gives roll your own a run for the money in the low end specs. Especially with shortages of things. If it's already put together then you have all the parts. Seriously. That's a problem these days. I typically use Newegg for self build. But then I gooogle each part that I want to see if there are better deals, including Amazon. Pay attention to ship dates.

Trying to avoid bloat ware and unneeded crap.

Itll be a music server. Very bare bones. 2TB SSD internal drives x 2; Bluetooth; LAN card; toslink card; HDMI card. 6 USB ports. 16gb ram, maybe 32.

Linux?

Win 10.

Might consider Linux, but I have no experience with it.

I would just get a prebuilt and add a toslink card or just do a cheap AMD build. Grab a motherboard that has bluetooth, hdmi, and 6 USB ports.

I did mine with CyberpowerPC a few years ago (I7 with a nice at the time NVIDIA video card). Pretty happy with it and them. When the motherboard went bad a couple years after way out of warranty I called them and they spent 20 minutes on the phone with me helping me to shop a new ASUS board from NewEgg that is way better than the MSI that came with it. I'm not a computer guy but I could have figured it out eventually...it was nice, though, that they gave me the support with no hassle and even told me to buy the board from another vendor. Still runs like a top and I learned a lot when I rebuilt it. And maybe stay away from MSI. What a POS that board was.

Quote Originally Posted by Flyoverland Captive View Post
    Might consider Linux, but I have no experience with it.
    Do you plan to go optical out to D/A converter and thence to an amp[s]? Or is this all going out to different clients across your LAN, like a file server?