Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

My View DIN is not just DIN

I was searching around for thoughts on bindings, and I kept seeing this comment: a "12 DIN is a 12 DIN."

Well, I worked in a shop as a tech many years ago, and bindings have changed very little.
    The Look toe is the old Geze.
    The current Marker, Tyrolia, Warden is a lot like an old M40. (Side note: I am curious as to why this winged cam design came back)
    Sollys are the same.

I tested 000s of bindings in the 1990s. I don't think much of anything has changed.
    DIN is not DIN.

Until you see how these bindings test as a combination of release, friction, and elastic travel you may not appreciate the difference.

My observations might be dated, but the designs are the same, or even becoming simpler (1990s backward twisting knee lawsuit frenzy).

Solly 747 style tested great, came out on DIN and showed elastic travel. Friction could affect release, but things generally worked very well.

Look Pivots with the ZR toe tested pretty well. Tons of travel, and the machine always needed a nudge to get them to release. A highly functional binding, but you couldn't tweak the spring to get a release DIN on the tape. DIN is not DIN.

Markers go CLICK. They tested on the numbers but no travel. The rep came and said, "DIN is DIN" so we are the best. No way I would ski a Marker to this day. There were no compromises for real world conditions.