Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thanks COVID, I'm an instructor now! Need tips for 7 y/o

So given the amount my 7 year old boy actually listens to me, I've been keeping him in group lessons over the past season. Since these aren't an option around here this year, and he would rather ski with Dad anyway now, which is cool, I would love to help him progress but have no idea for tips and tricks to get the stance and body position correct. Last year he got pretty good at being parallel more often than not , and was generally forward , but had a wide cowboy stance. This year after growing a bit and a late start to the season, he keeps going into that wide legged stance , even when straight running parallel, and seems to be more wedge dependent. Also he is more backseated and unless constantly reminded , keeps his hands down near his pockets (no poles yet). He has good turn shape and decent control, but I really want the wide legged backseat stance to not become a habit.

I still want skiing with dad to be fun, but also want to work on these basics with him. Any tips or fun drills than could help him here?

Maybe time to add the poles to the mix and start getting some bug squishing practice?
    "Let's be careful out there."

Let him dial in stance and body position on terrain he's completely comfortable on. Any chance you're pushing him onto more difficult runs than he's ready to really ski rather than just survive? I don't mean never take him on harder runs but he needs to spend a fair amount of time on easier runs, runs that probably bore the heck out of you.

IME kids that age learn more by imitating than by instruction. Does he follow you or do you follow him? Instructors I see spend most of their time leading their students.

And yeah, give poles a try. Might make him feel more secure. You can always take them away if they make things more complicated.

Wide stance? Sorry to break it to ya, but he might be a snowboarder waiting to be set free.