Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast

Jobs you had before you found your place in the world

I was a mainframe computer operator in Indianapolis in the late 70s. Worked mostly midnight to 8:00 am. My sleep rhythm has never forgiven me.

Perhaps its because I used to load a whole bunch of stuff up to run and would sleep on the CPU. It was warm and had a soothing hum. Every now and then I would have to wake up and reply to a question or hang some more tapes. Yeah, tapes.

The machine had 1MB of memory and that was a big deal at that time.
    I have been in this State for 30 years and I am willing to admit that I am part of the problem.

"Happiest years of my life were earning < $8.00 and hour, collecting unemployment every spring and fall, no car, no debt and no responsibilities. 1984-1990 Park City UT"

This implies that we've found our place in the world or think we have, so... I'm out!

Moonlighting at a bar in Japan; I only did weekend nights. I was in my early 20s and it was pretty fucking fun. In retrospect, maybe I had found my place in the world then and didn't recognize it.

Best job before I settled in? Easy.

Lifeguard at a second-tier water park with a 45-10 F-M ratio amongst the guards during the summers between Senior year of high school and Sophomore year of undergrad. Books could be written about the fun we had.
    I still call it The Jake.

Cheese taster/grader. While working days I only graded the cheese. Had to taste each lot, check curd formation, bubble size for Swiss, check salt ph etc. I hated it. Worked with a bunch of assholes. Lazy cheese plant lifers that thought they were something special.

Finally had enough and went back to school. switched to nights where I had to unload cheese from semi trailers then grade and put away. At least I got to work by myself.
    I'd rather die while I'm living then live while I'm dead