Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Veterinary advice and information

As many of you know I am a veterinarian and have given advice and tried to inform mags during all the years I have hung around this insane corner of the innerwebs. I recently got a PM asking for advice, part of which was an apology for bothering me, another part was an option to not respond if I didn't want to. I am happy to comment and advise to the best of my ability with the caveat that I am limited within the confines an internet diagnosis.

I rarely read the dog or cat stoke thread, but do tend to check out specific pet related threads, but not consistently. So, what I am getting at, is I am happy to try and help makes as best I can, so if you have specific questions please just PM me. If there is a thread with info that is relevant a link will help. As with any medical condition, the more info we have the better the advise will be. A medical diagnosis is simply just a puzzle. If you only have one or two pieces of it it is extremely difficult to figure out the picture. If you have all but one or two pieces anybody can figure out the picture. The challange is figuring out the picture with as few pieces as possible.

Just a bit of background. I have been a small animal vet for 35 years (involved in vet med for over 40). I spent a few years as a mixed animal vet, and that was my tract in vet school. While I haven't treated large animals in many years, I am still reasonably informed there.
    I am recently retired, but still involved, and my wife (also a vet) is always a good source of information for me. It has always been great to have a built in second opinion on my difficult cases.

So, I am happy to help where I can and glad to answer PMs or post in threads where appropriate. As many of you know, I am happy to talk or text if more specifics are needed. I have benefited from the generosity of this board many times, and gladly give back where I can.

Cheers