Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

polarized sunglasses...is there a range of efficacy?

(mostly thinking about fishing here)

are there significant differences between polarized lenses?
    or is the level of polarization the same?

someone here works in the optics world, right?

[ETA]are polarized glasses available in high VLT options somewhere? Like 70% VLT, not 20%
    Last edited by ::: :::; 06-22-2020 at 01:38 PM.

As you well know, I'm a self-titled expert in almost all things, including dentistry and polarized sunglasses. There is indeed a range of performance in polarized lenses, from my expert level experience.

Goodr takes the win for me on snow, bike, and water ($~25, range of styles and fit to select from). Seriously though, Goodr polarized lenses perform better than big $ brands I've owned like Rayban. Can't beat the price point...

havent heard of them, i'll take a look

I order two pairs from Goodr on June 6th. Still haven't arrived. Apparently this is the norm at the moment. Don't order from them unless you can be very patient.

Shadyrays are fantastic for 45 a piece. They do a lot of sales too. Got three pair myself.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
    Why don't you go practice fallin' down? I'll be there in a minute.

found this:
    https://gearpatrol.com/2019/05/23/po...ed%20lenses%3F

Barton: There are many different levels and many different price points. The basic way that it works is the same — it requires a film. There are different quality levels of film where some are more effective than others, but the big difference comes in how the lens is made with that film and how clear the lens is.

Q: How do factories make polarized lenses?