All-carbon layup for flatwater touring kayak?

Hey folks,

I'm looking at getting back into mellow lake kayaking after several years away.

There's a boat at a nearby dealer that specs out similarly to my old boat, but it's all-carbon which I have no experience with (I have read that carbon is brittle and can get dinged easily). It's a decent price and supply in the area is pretty limited, so I am considering it.

My Q: is all-carbon a bad idea for my use case?

Thanks.
    Last edited by ntblanks; 05-28-2020 at 09:11 AM.

You should be fine with it, CF is way more expensive of course.

Even if you do damage it is fixable.
    Last edited by SB; 05-28-2020 at 12:58 PM.
    watch out for snakes

Quote Originally Posted by SB View Post
    You should be fine with it, CF is way more expensive of course.

Even if you do damage it it is fixable.
    I appreciate the info. Yeah - if there was a fiberglass or, even better, kevlar+whatever version available I would buy that for cost savings but also added durability. Not trying to be that guy with the stupidly expensive gear. It's still under $2k for a legit, brand new kayak so not outlandish (according to my quick scan of the current local new & used market).

Cheers.

Figure you could certainly get by with cheaper and heavier craft. Light weight boats are fun but they also can get pushed around, much like light weight skis.
    watch out for snakes

Figure you could certainly get by with cheaper and heavier craft. Light weight boats are fun but they also can get pushed around, much like light weight skis.
    Excellent points.

I'm not a "big water" guy, so that may not be a huge factor, aside from unexpectedly windy days. Mostly I target flat rivers & non-huge lakes. But definitely something to factor in.

And - yeah - I have no special desire to pay more than necessary I am looking to upgrade from rotomolded plastic, though.

Thanks.