Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: HOBIE 16FT

HOBIE 16FT

OK wrong forum etc. but blazing forth in a bliss of ignorance, anybody had much experience? suggestions what to look for / not look for? what is a "soft spot" on hull what does it mean? stay away from 14ft ?

I've had a lot of experience as a kid with sunfish & lightnings (2yrs seagull) but haven't sailed much since. Now have regular access to the beach, looking for a thing the college age sons might enjoy.

Any feedback / suggestions appreciated!
    "Can't you see..."

Fun, fun ,fun. Soft spot is probably some delaminated fiberglass. Depending on your skill level can maybe be repaired in your backyard.

For 2 or more adults I'd stay with 16 ft.
    For something college sons might enjoy, buy a motor boat.
    I used to sail a lightning--nice boat for an old fashioned design.

Quote Originally Posted by old goat View Post
    For something college sons might enjoy, buy a motor boat.
    While I'm totally on board with that (see what I did there) (had a Larson/evenude for 12 yrs pre-kids and loved it); I just, seems you can get in an awful lot more trouble in the ocean / intercoastal with a motorboat. I know I did.
    "Can't you see..."

14 sucks. Too small

16 are fun, but the design is so dated.
    But there are so many of them, they can be had cheap.
    Biggest problem is the hulls are narrow and don’t have much float.

If it’s old you might want to replace the standing rigging. Getting dismasted sucks.

The hobie 18 is a more modern design, but now you have daggerboards.

Nacra is the best by far. Had a few of those and it’s so much fun.

Spent a lot of time on the wire, hiked out with a beer in hand. Good times.
    . . .

Quote Originally Posted by Core Shot View Post
    But there are so many of them, they can be had cheap.
    Bingo
    "Can't you see..."

Where are you looking to drop in, drag in on the beach or trailer to the IC side?