Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

How to fill crack in cutting board?

Since it' a little slow around here, and...weirder questions have been posted in Tech Talk before.

I've been using the same, bamboo cutting boards for like 15 years, and they've been flawless. Only thing: they have no juice groove, so when I cut a piece of meat on them, it spill off the sides, onto the countertop

So I finally got around to buying one with a gutter around the edge. Also bamboo, but constructed like a micro-lam: many, 1/8" inch pieces glued together. And after just 6 months, it has developed a crack in the middle, clear from one side through to the other (dry Colorado air, vs wherever in China, I suppose). So the juice gutter is moot, as now juice just leaks through the crack and gets all over the counter.

Any idea what I can use to fill/seal the crack? Obviously has to be food-safe, and durable.

In before XXXer can suggest aquaseal

I don't have a specific recommendation for one, but there are plenty of food grade two part epoxies out there. I'd try one of those and clamp the shit out of it to close the gap as best you can.

hahaha. was thinking the exact same thing re: Aquaseal.

Could also think about sanding the board a bit, mixing the dust with woodglue, then giv'er shit. I'd be curious on toxicity of glue once it's hardened for really any glue.

Wood glue sucks at filling gaps. If you can clamp the parts together well, it's bomber, but I don't think it's a great call in this case.

I've been using the hot glue gun to repair prit near everything these days...would that work? The glue adhesion/bond is quite tenacious on a variety of substances I've used it on. Easy to target little gaps and tight spaces with relatively pin point precision. Speed up the dry/cure/cooling/hardening time by putting some parchment paper over the glue and laying a ziplock bag of snow or crushed ice over the area.
    Master of mediocrity.