Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Article - the death of forums

https://www.engadget.com/2020/02/27/...ums-dying-off/

The article exactly mirrors my experience: I've been hanging out on a niche snowboard forum for 20 years and the people there are all of a certain age - there are no young users coming in. All that activity has moved to Facebook and maybe Reddit to a certain extent. I'm not a Facebook guy because I'm from the generation (probably like many of you) where you didn't even want to put your picture online associated with your full name, let alone get data mined for everything you do online and everyone you know. Jimmy Wales, the founder of Wikipedia, is working on a social network that is supposed to be the anti-facebook (supported by users, not ads, if I remember correctly), but I'm not so sure he's going to get traction, so there's no good path forward in my mind: it's either submit to the borg and join Facebook, or just watch once-vital communities slowly dwindle.

At any rate, I'm glad that all you ornery dentists are still keeping it real here.

Shit.....we were way ahead of the curve back in 2000 and now we're dinosaurs.

<<crickets>>

Back to real life I guess.

Sent from my iPhone using TGR Forums

"young users" activity has moved to Facebook? Funny.

Facebook/Twitter: really old people
    Instagram: old people
    Snapchat: young-ish people
    Tik Tok/<Unknown>: young people

Quote Originally Posted by skaredshtles View Post
    Old-fashioned forums: dinosaurs
    Facebook/Twitter: really old people
    Instagram: old people
    Snapchat: young-ish people
    Tik Tok/<Unknown>: young people
    FIFY

Quote Originally Posted by skaredshtles View Post
    Yeah, younger people left facebook when mom - and grandma - started e-stalking them.

So I just read the article. It was written by Greg, right?

Quote Originally Posted by dan_pdx View Post
    FIFY
    Can't argue with that.

I blame Rob Story
    Quando paramucho mi amore de felice carathon.