Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Grand Traverse 2020?

Curious if any mags will be doing the Grand Traverse this year - I signed up (this is my first year doing the GT) while under the influence of heavy narcotics in the hospital, and now I'm regretting all of my life choices.

Anyone else out there planning on doing the GT? Any advice from those who have made the same mistake as me?

you can read my long-ass blog post about it https://markbillie.blogspot.com/2019...erse-2019.html

tl;dr it is going to be unpleasant

e: I think possibly some other mags are doing it though...

Any remote thoughts I ever entertained about doing this were quashed by your comments about that long, sidehill traverse when you first published your TR.

... Thom
    Galibier Design
    crafting technology in service of music

Quote Originally Posted by mall walker View Post
    you can read my long-ass blog post about it https://markbillie.blogspot.com/2019...erse-2019.html

thanks mall walker. and yeah. i'm betting on the unpleasantness of this all. i had read your trip report earlier - and you're in far better shape than i am - and it still sounds horrendous.

i guess it's time to figure out some 20-30 mile FLAT ski trips in the wasatch.

start at the mill creek road closure and go up the road, to little water peak, then take the crest trail to 10420 and back... skins on the whole way til coming back down little water... that’s about representative

Wow, I just read the whole thing and that sounds super fun!

I've done it 5 or 6 times although not for a couple of years now. Not nearly as unpleasant for me as mallwalker wrote but those years i was willing and able to put in the training miles to make the event itself ok and in some years fairly fast. Might try and write up some thoughts and recommendations sometime