Good day on a Middle Tennessee river

Yesterday was cool enough to merit its own post IMO, so I'm throwing this up rather than adding to the 2019 at a glance thread. I've been doing a lot of stream fishing around here for about 20 years. Everything freestone is warm water, with smallmouth bass at the top of the gamefish pyramid. I mostly fished in these streams with a spinning rod the first few years, but gradually tried them on the long rod, and about 6-7 year ago went to fly fishing 100% of the time. It has been strictly a do it yourself learn on the stream experience though because warm water fly fishing hasn't been much of a thing around here, though that is gradually changing, so there are very few guides in this part of the country who focus on stream fishing, other than in tailwaters for trout. Last summer though I heard of a guide here doing it, James Johnsey who owns Tennessee on the Fly with his wife Amy. Yesterday, I finally got out with him after a couple of trips cancelled due to rain or unexpected life commitments on my part.

We had a really good day. Fairly early on, I stuck a nice river smallmouth. This was 14-15 inches and fat. I catch a few of these every year, but that's right around the top end of what I have caught on the fly rod. Good work out on a 6 weight.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	james 1.jpg 
Views:	132 
Size:	714.6 KB 
ID:	294999

One of the interesting things about fishing these rivers though is that they have a lot of different species in them. My buddy and I caught 8 different species just yesterday. Here, not long after the first big bass, i get into the pooper game with my first carp ever, a big grassy that I caught sight fishing with a popping bug that was not quite buoyant enough to float.

Name:	james carp.jpg 
Views:	127 
Size:	711.3 KB 
ID:	295002