Page 1 of 16 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast

Fall Days Afield 19/20

Paging the fillers of freezers. Time to rock and roll.

My tags this year include:
    3 season Spike elk (opens for archery Saturday)
    3 season buck tag
    anterless deer private lands
    Rifle Cow elk hunt on the Bookcliffs Roadless
    many duck and grouse missions

Good luck and be safe.
    "If we can't bring the mountain to the party, let's bring the PARTY to the MOUNTAIN!"

Excellent, Smithers.

I've got one local archery elk tag (either sex), one WA muzzleloader bull elk tag, one general deer tag (buck), one December muzzleloader elk tag (either sex). Best part is that I've never used a muzzleloader before. Got myself a Knight Bighorn and have commenced practicing.

Other than that, lots and lots of bird hunting now that both fraggle dogs are of age and ready to back each other (hopefully).
    "All God does is watch us and kill us when we get boring. We must never, ever be boring."

Fall Days Afield 19/20

One of my favorite threads.
    That’s a lot of tags and meat if successful on all of them phall!
    Best of luck on the muzzy hunt Rev!
    I drew nada, all out of state tags that were a tough draw going in. Not sure if I’ll hunt big game general season this year. Might just focus on fishing and waterfowl this fall.
    Last edited by 2FUNKY; 08-12-2019 at 03:13 PM.

I didn't bother applying for any special tags this year in Montana. The general elk tag has so many options there really isn't any reason to need anything else. Lots of the districts around my home are open to antlerless elk and branch-antlered bull. Plus there's the shoulder season tags for antlerless elk, which actually opens in three days. Going to try to get out over Labor Day weekend, that's as soon as I can manage. I predict this will be the last year they offer the shoulder season tags. It's been pretty controversial to have people out there chasing elk with rifles six months a year.