Any recommendations for newbie rides outside of the Front Range?

I am getting real sick of the front range crowds and heat this time of the year and was hoping someone could give me some recommendations for rides up in the mountains. Looking at the apps is a bit confusing and all of the recommended rides are 20+ miles long and like 4k vert or there are like a million small segments.

I have been biking for a couple of years but am just getting into it more heavily and consider this my first real year. A typical ride that I will do is like 8 miles 1200 vert (north table, green mtn, etc.). Looking for something in the 15 miles range and maybe up to 2k vert somewhere in Nederland/summit/Winter Park area.

I assume you need a pass to bike on any of trestle or any of the inbounds ski areas? I ride a 2018 specialized rockhopper hard tail. Not try to poach peoples secret spots just a bit overwhelmed with all of the options.

Goggle Buffalo Creek

Quote Originally Posted by The SnowShow View Post
    Goggle Buffalo Creek
    I would have never looked there. Seems like some good options. Thanks!

Buff Creek is a great place.

I love riding in Nederland, but it's not particularly newcomer friendly as the stuff I ride is deep in the woods and not signed at all. I ride almost every Wednesday evening there, typical evening ride is just what you describe, 8 miles 1200 vert. Hit me up if you want to join.

Lots of great riding of the type you're looking for in Winter Park area (not at the resort). Same for Summit County. One of my favorite "bigger" rides is near Breck, start at the dredgeboat trailhead on Tiger Road. Bike up Tiger Road until it intersects with the Colorado Trail, go left. Ride the CT all the way back to your car. That's something like 20 miles and 2000' maybe?

Another option is Kenosha Pass, go either direction on the CT as far as you want, an out and back (going east you eventually hit a wilderness boundary).