Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 51 to 71 of 71
  1. #51
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Among Greatness All Around
    Posts
    5,162
    Options include have a tech come in and check the wiring- could be freaking out due to bad connections, filters not right or the splitters not done up right.

    Other options are see if Charter supports using a Roku or similar streaming device on the TV's and Wifi and login into an App (Spectrum does this) and you only have 1 main TV box to feed from the coax cable and drop and get rid of all the other splitters and connections and turn the other 4 set top boxes back in (saves money if they charge and rent the boxes to you also).

    3rd option includes getting a DVR (Channel Master as one example) and watching everything from it. HDHomerun is another one that can be used for central access over wifi or wired connections to the various TV's (or computers or Tablets, etc.) in the house.

    If you do go with any of the wifi solutions you may need to verify wifi coverage's and speeds. Or you will just be dealing with network issues and pixelation or dropped signals the same way. Mesh wifi (Google Wifi or similar) or a good high end gaming type of router that supports good AC 1900 or higher if the place could be covered with a single wifi router device.

  2. #52
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    YetiMan
    Posts
    10,783
    Yeah rshea, that’s all well and good, but what about the pressing socio-political implications?

  3. #53
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    I smell poutine!!!
    Posts
    8,286
    Go to the maul.

  4. #54
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    431
    We have two cable boxes in the house to the main TVs, the bedrooms have Smart TV same are just connected to the cable wall outlet. They pick up all channels without the box. Oddly numbered and that makes it a pain to find. But they all exist (minus music and HBO type movie channels).

    Try the direct connection, run the TV thru the reprogram/setup and see what happens. Good enough for the bedroom is my guess.

    Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

  5. #55
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Where everything's a dollar
    Posts
    2,504
    Circling back to the original Charter problem...what exactly is happening? It's possible, as others have said that it's a wiring issue. Some cable wiring is getting old and if it's outside there's no telling what kind of condition it may be in at this point. If the outage is impacting all TV's I'd start there but even if it's just 1 or 2 TV's it could still be the main line not providing a clean signal that's strong enough to service all 5. There's really no reason why, if the wiring's good and the connections have been done correctly why you should be having a problem with the cable. I'd get Charter involved and see what they come up with before jumping into the streaming set up. That's going to present a different set of issues you may not want to deal with.
    The Sheriff is near!

  6. #56
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    YetiMan
    Posts
    10,783
    With 5 TVs you have a ripe opportunity for science(!)...

    One gets Charter. One gets Roku. Another gets Directv....etc.
    After 20 or 30 years you'll have enough data to conclusively decide which one is best and you can publish your results in TV Guide and die in peace knowing you contributed something meaningful to the body of human achievement.

  7. #57
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    YetiMan
    Posts
    10,783
    imagine:

    Q: What are you up to this week?

    A: It's the playoffs, so we're heading to the condo....for Science!

    You could wear a lab coat unironically. A lab coat dude.

    you may have to have monkeys living in those rooms watching tv....just a few monkeys...it's not real science unless you're fucking with monkeys.

  8. #58
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Among Greatness All Around
    Posts
    5,162
    Quote Originally Posted by Iowagriz View Post
    We have two cable boxes in the house to the main TVs, the bedrooms have Smart TV same are just connected to the cable wall outlet. They pick up all channels without the box. Oddly numbered and that makes it a pain to find. But they all exist (minus music and HBO type movie channels).

    Try the direct connection, run the TV thru the reprogram/setup and see what happens. Good enough for the bedroom is my guess.

    Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
    Many of the companies are going to digital TV and scrambling the signal so it can only be picked up with a set top box that they provide (and usually charge for it with a monthly rental) The reasons are people are more and more just doing internet and back in the analog signal days, the cable modem needed basic TV so you had to get both. Now they separate the services out and do the bundles and it usually required their activated equipment.

  9. #59
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Among Greatness All Around
    Posts
    5,162
    Quote Originally Posted by ill-advised strategy View Post
    Yeah rshea, that’s all well and good, but what about the pressing socio-political implications?
    That is over on the Political Forum now where everyone is discussing that. Things on TGR are such that all but the new Jongs should know that by now.

  10. #60
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    The Cone of Uncertainty
    Posts
    46,993
    hm, lab coats.

  11. #61
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Posts
    10,896
    IAS is on fire...the only reason I’m reading this thread.

    I’m using my snark credit before I’ve earned it, I owe one useful answer but probably won’t be on this topic.
    And I guess that I just don't know

  12. #62
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    inpdx
    Posts
    11,849
    Quote Originally Posted by iceman View Post
    hm, lab coats.
    Maybe check out Goop and see if Gwyneth has curated some bourgeois lab coats and Japanese spa slippers for all the short term rental guests?

  13. #63
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    I smell poutine!!!
    Posts
    8,286
    IAS is on fire!

  14. #64
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Donner Summit
    Posts
    702
    Is your splitter powered? If you just have 5 TVs attached to a passive 8-way splitter each cable box is getting 1/8 of the signal. Get one of these instead.

  15. #65
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,081

  16. #66
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Shadynasty's Jazz Club
    Posts
    8,256
    Remind me. We'll send him a red cap and a Speedo.

  17. #67
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Stumptown
    Posts
    5,764
    Ice,

    is your place wired for ethernet? You could run your Roku/et al hard wired possibly and not have to worry about your wifi bandwith and signal strength as much. Even if you get one or two TVs off the wifi it could help significantly.

    Otherwise, x2 on calling Charter and telling them to fix it.

  18. #68
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    The Cone of Uncertainty
    Posts
    46,993
    Quote Originally Posted by Supermoon View Post
    Ice,
    Otherwise, x2 on calling Charter and telling them to shove it.
    Got it.

  19. #69
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Splat's Garage
    Posts
    3,301
    I'M CALLING IT RIGHT HERE.

    If all you fuckers have rental properties now, then the bubble is about to burst. Thanks.

  20. #70
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Vernon BC
    Posts
    1,675
    Quote Originally Posted by iceman View Post
    @cmcrawford: If you want snarky I can go that way. Ready?

    Bottom line is we have this place and people come visit and I want to make it easy for them, which makes it easy for me. Lots of people watch TV before bed, so we set it up so they could, except the way it is now, sometimes they can't, and they don't bitch, but they ask, and then I'm in it. Which I'd prefer not to be.
    Maybe just offer them a selection of books on tape?
    "Its not the arrow, its the Indian" - M.Pinto

  21. #71
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,666
    What I would do which has sort of been said

    If the TVs are any sort of old

    Replace them with a Roku TV from TCL
    You can run ethernet to them to avoid wireless network issues
    Put together a media PC server with Plex pass and stick video files (movies etc) that I am sure you have paid fair money four
    install Plex app on the rokus so they can just watch stuff there.

    You don't technically need a plex pass to watch on the same network but with it you could in theory keep the stuff on your own computer and watch it other places/phones etc

    Alternatively or in conjunction, just get a bunch of chromecasts for the tvs. That way people can just use their own logins for streaming apps on the TVs. If this is a vacation place, more than likely they have their own subscriptions

    If you don't have easy ethernet access you can always replace your router with something like what google offers which would give you bridge access to various accesspoints.

    alternatively get a roku stick or box. I believe the boxes have ethernet connections

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •