jgb@etree Guest

Arrow BBM Replacement? ISO Text, Voice & Video app

Blackberry Messenger is finally dying on 5/31. At this point it probably doesn't affect that many people, but I've been using it for nearly 15 years. It used to be very popular & useful before Blackberry died, but I held on because it is one of the primary ways my wife & I communicate during the day. Now that our son is a bit older, we also use it to communicate with him when needed. It's also nice to be able to segregate & easily identify family comms from the deluge of SMS messages that people get these days.

I know there are tons of 'chat' apps out there, but I'm hoping to find something similar to what BBM is/was.

Requirements:

Text chats easily show when a message has been delivered, as well as read (very useful for when you are busy - even if I don't respond, my wife will know I saw the message so really no need to respond for a lot of stuff)

Ability to make voice & video calls to other users (son uses an itouch which has no phone, and is 9, so it's often easier to talk to him that to decipher his spelling)

Works on both android & IOS

If possible, I'd prefer a direct peer to peer service

Anyone aware of a decent app that fits the bill? Free would be nice, but I'd probably be willing to pay for an app that checks all the boxes.

Signal

No bullshit, easy to use and well encrypted.

Quote Originally Posted by jgb@etree View Post
    Blackberry Messenger is finally dying on 5/31. At this point it probably doesn't affect that many people, but I've been using it for nearly 15 years. It used to be very popular & useful before Blackberry died, but I held on because it is one of the primary ways my wife & I communicate during the day. Now that our son is a bit older, we also use it to communicate with him when needed. It's also nice to be able to segregate & easily identify family comms from the deluge of SMS messages that people get these days.