Road trip - Fernie to Vancouver via MT/ID/WA

I’m planning a road trip for June, from Vancouver to Fernie then back to Vancouver. I think we’re going to drive to Fernie on the Canadian side and make some stops along the way to ride. I’m pretty familiar with where to go.

But to mix it up, we were thinking of driving back through the US. I have zero knowledge of that area so I’m hoping people can point me in the right direction. We will probably leave Fernie Wednesday morning and aim to be back in Van Sunday night, so 5 days.

What are some spots we should check out, and what are some good towns/areas to visit along the way? I’m with my wife. Thinking more fun-for-all, scenic rides and a scenic driving route. I was thinking of swinging though Leavenworth but otherwise have no clue where to go.

Or should we just stay in BC?

Well, at the Western end of the return you could hit Winthrop, then continue over WA pass, (route 20), and hit the trails around Bellingham before you head back home. When you leave Fernie you could stop in Rossland, and do the 7 summits trail.
    Well maybe I'm the faggot America
    I'm not a part of a redneck agenda

For that drive, go south of the border for easier driving, but stay north of the border for better riding.

Don't get me wrong, there's some decent stuff on the u.s. side. But there's more good stuff that's easier to come by on the b.c. side.

From fernie, hit nelson, castlegar, rossland. Then maybe pop up to the Vernon / Kelowna area. Then hit the stuff east of Vancouver.

^^^ I agree, I was thinking if he really wants to visit the US... Rossland, Winthrop, and Bellingham are all about 3 hours apart from each other, and are cool towns in their own right,

Yeah, it's just to do/see something different. We've driven Highway 1 and Highway 3 in BC many times and wouldn't mind mixing it up. It kind of looks like there's a whole lot of flat stuff in Eastern Washington, though.

maybe down to whitefish after fernie?