Looking for a 24” mountain bike

For a friend, 24” wheels. Good quality light weight ride. They are trying to stay below $500. Anybody got a line on a bike? Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using TGR Forums
    I rip the groomed on tele gear

Norco has great kids bike options. They have a model called the Storm that has 24” wheels, mechanical disc brakes, and a suspension fork that gets about 2” travel and retails for about $450.

Is this for a kid? My boys (10 & 12) each have a Specialized Riprock 24. They're great bikes - aluminum frames, front suspension, 1x8 drivetrain, disc brakes and 24 x 2.8 tires. They start at $525. They love them.

We bought our 6yo a Canondale Cujo 20 last year on recommendation from here. It is a plus bike without front suspension and weighs in around 20 pounds. The general consensus was that kids' front suspension is generally heavy and ineffective (I have no personal experience) and it would be better to go rigid. 20 pounds of bike for an adult is really light when it's 6-10% of your body weight, but 20 pounds of bike for a kid is 33-40% of their body weight. The heavier the bikes get, the harder they are for them to operate. We were deciding between that and a Trek Superlight because it had a similar weight and component spec.

I know that there is a Cujo 24, although I don't know a ton about it. I'm sure that there are other options also, but would strongly suggest finding a lightweight bike. This summer we're going to be adding adjustable hydraullic brakes and a rapidfire shifter to make things work better - maybe a cassette with better low gearing to make the uphills more manageable.

Seth

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MVIMG_20181022_113306.jpg 
Views:	49 
Size:	2.52 MB 
ID:	274975