Rookie needs advice....

...and let me preempt this by saying advice mainly about what kind of ski to get.

I’ve been touring for a couple years now on some Volkl Nunataqs I got off craigslist.

I’m not the best skier in the world and I’ve been mostly learning as I’m earning. The Volkls have always felt a bit stiff for my liking and when I get into icier conditions or tight through the trees they don’t turn as easy as I’d like. They do well and are fun in wide open soft stuff but that ain’t saying much.

I’d like to get some new skis that are decent in powder but not necessarily excellent. I’d like them to be responsive in tight spots and hold their own on short crappy sections on firmer stuff. I know I know, can’t have it all.

I’m not overly concerned with weight as I’m mostly into about 8-10 hour days with a couple laps up top.

My short list so far:

G3 finder 102. (179)

Elan Ripsticks 105?? I think (180)

Rossi Soul 7’s

Anyone have any suggestions...other than learn to ski better😜

I've got some strong opinions on this that I think many others will echo.

No doubt you need to be on the 193 TECH TALK JONGS!

P.S. the shamans are like magic in tight spaces but probably not what you want for ice. I love em but they're definitely a ski you need to demo first bc it's definitely a love it or hate it type relationship...

Reach out to NW_Skier for beta on Soul 7's. He is the resident expert on that ski, been on them since they came out

Quote Originally Posted by flowing alpy View Post
    so read your first sentence and ask yourself,
    did i post this within the proper TGR forum?
    so much you can learn from nw_skier, soul 7
    Sorry...figured I needed general opinions and discussion about a good intermediate ski that has these qualities.

Quote Originally Posted by C_W_B View Post
    Sorry...figured I needed general opinions and discussion about a good intermediate ski that has these qualities.
    And you would find that in.... wait for it....

TECH TALK