Medicare Advice Please

Backstory... My 76 y.o. mom lives in Florida and is on a regional medicare plan (essentially an HMO). I need to bring her up to NYC for extended care at Sloan Kettering. Her FL plan won't cover her up here. To solve that problem, my thought is move her up to our home (full relocation with Social Security) and get a new Medicare plan in NJ. If this residence/insurance move is possible (I believe it is so far), she is still facing the 20% co-pay and being balance-billed for the amounts above and beyond what Medicare pays. My mom found that there are supplemental Medicare plans through AARP (Plan F or G) that would cover the co-pay and "Part B Excess Charges" 100%. What I am unsure of is if there are exclusions for pre-existing conditions on these supplemental plans or if the move out of her coverage area gives her "guaranteed issue rights". I see mention of both possibilities across the interweb.

I'm still learning the ins/outs about Medicare and I am even considering contacting a Medicare consultant/advisor. First thing tomorrow, I will call my State Health Insurance Assistance Program (SHIP). In the meantime, any advice/comments/words of encouragement and even +vibes would be greatly appreciated.

Oh yeah, and Fuck Cancer!
    Because rich has nothing to do with money.

Man, if she gets supplementary at her age and fighting cancer, please get back to us about it. That's like taking out an auto policy after you wrecked, or homeowners while your house is on fire.

I have head that Social security or Medicare provide free legal advice. State paid Representation.
    To represent the elderly in cases where assisted living is involved. This from my 76 year old mom
    Own your fail. ~Jer~

... jfost is really ignorant, he often just needs simple facts laid out for him...

I am a Meducare broker.