Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Talk me into buying boots

My boots blew up last season. I've been skiing Factor 130's for the past 3 years, and the ski/walk mode gave out on both boots. The shell itself is cracked, so I can't buy a replacement mechanism. No proof of purchase, so I can't have them fixed by BD.

As such, I'm looking at getting some new boots. The quiver for next year is pretty simple- 190 Rocker 2 108s/dynafit Radical ST 2.0 for touring around VT, and 184 Shreditor 92s/Marker Griffons for fucking around the resort and the park with college friends.

About me: 190 lbs, 6'4", athletic, aggressive skier (ha), beat the shit out of my gear.

The ideal setup is pretty clear to me- something like a Atomic Hawx Ultra XTD 120 for touring, and a Lange RX 130 for doing circles around my pals. For touring, I'd rather lean towards downhill performance vs uphill weight, and my main concern for inbounds is durability. Stiff flex is a must.

Here's the catch though- I don't have $1200 to drop on two new pairs of boots this year. At most I have around $350, and that's pushing it.

Here are my options as I see it:

*Buy AT boots without rockered soles (S/LAB MTN), and shove them in my alpine bindings for a season. Buy resort boots next year.
    *Buy a resort boot with pins (Cochise 130 or Lange XT 130) and buy a dedicated touring boot next year.
    *Buy nice AT boots and fix the walk/ski issue on my factors with some metal. Buy nice resort boots next year.
    *Buy nice resort boots and AT soles for the factors, and do a atomic backland style external bracket for the factors. Buy nice AT boots next year.
    *Buy some cheap used touring boots and some cheap used resort boots.

What do you think? I can't decide. Maybe I should just buy a lottery ticket and hope for the best

Talk me into buying boots

Buy some cheap new or used boots that fit well.

Sent from my iPhone using TGR Forums