Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Bitch About Your Ex Thread....

So, I'm new to divorce and having an ex who has any kind of leverage over my life. It's a constant drain. Part of the mindfuck is not having meaningful validation re: whether she's being a crazy bitch or if I'm just being a whiney bitch. Part of the mindfuck is that there really isn't a good avenue for bitching about it since I'm really not trying to spread shit about my kids' mom in our small community.

So here's the spot. Tell me I'm being a whiney bitch. Tell me your own stories. Here's a couple of mine.....

Context: We're about 9 months into the separation. Against my lawyer's advice, I gave her as much as I could. In exchange for agreeing to spousal support, she didn't fight me on getting more than the minimum custody. It still isn't 50/50, which is what I wanted, but that's neither here nor there. Seeing my kids on a regular basis was NOT something I was willing to leave to chance, so here we are with me at about 40%. If my kids are with her 60% of the time, I'm not interested in her having to live in low income housing in a shitty apartment complex. My lawyer never really did get that one. So, I'm giving her a good chunk for child support (not my choice, granted), a very nice chunk of spousal support for the next several years (100% my own election), and I'm paying everything off, including her car (also 100% my own election). And she can have the house (spousal support designed so she can make the mortgage payment, and again....). I'm told it's stupid, but I don't really get that. It's where my kids live most of the time. A hint of appreciation from my ex would be lovely, but that's not why I'm doing it.... Flipside (that calls my logic into question) is I have to live in a kind of shitty house in a kind of shitty neighborhood. But whatever.... I'll dig out of it.

So.... just this weekend: