Page 1 of 16 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast

Why you should own a Stockli Stormrider

A word of warning: Basically all the 2017 Stockli models are complete garbage, and the 2018s aren't much better. The ones with the carbon insets in the tip and tail. They went right back to their tried and true construction after one season, so any year 2016 or earlier should be prime and cheaper.

About me:
    I am almost 30, 5'9" 175# and athletic. If I am not skiing I am climbing. "In shape" is the phrase I would use.

I work full time as an instructor in the winter, and as such I spend a lot of time talking, thinking, and breathing skiing, ski equipment, and things like edge bevels. But I don't just have a stick up my ass, I ride Line Pescados, I love going backwards and spinning off cliffs, and I generally loathe the idea of the "perfect" groomer turn, I wanna play! shred! send! None of this robotic rigid elbow garbage turns for me.

Been teaching for 9 years, and its given me the opportunity to ski just about every ski out there. I have a couple skis in the under 90 at the waist category for going fast around gates, or generally not leaving a groomed trail, but that's not what I enjoy riding most of the time. When the snow is good, I have fun playful pow skis, chargy pow skis, skis for slush and "packed pow" days, and touring skis for the spring... But one slot in the quiver hasn't quite felt right for the longest time.