Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Time for an upgrade

I've been riding my Giant Trance for 4 years now and I think it's time for an upgrade. Looking at trying to stay in the $4,000-$5,000 range. Here's a few options I'm looking at:

Santa Cruz C S https://www.santacruzbicycles.com/en-US/bronson

Norco Sight C2 http://www.norco.com/bikes/mountain/...rbon/sight-c2/

Intense Recluse Pro Build https://intensecycles.com/collection...=3346143281175

They all seem to fairly similar overall, though I think the Norco and Intense have a little nicer builds. The Santa Cruz has a better warranty. Getting on the Bronson and Norco probably won't be too difficult, but I can't find anyone with the Recluse around me.

90% of the my riding is spent along the Wasatch with a few Moab trips and Deer Valley days thrown in. The new Nomad is slightly tempting, but I just spend too much time climbing to justify it. Anyone have any time on any of these?

what do you, and don't you, like about your current bike?

why is the upgrade needed?

Quote Originally Posted by mntlion View Post
    what do you, and don't you, like about your current bike?

why is the upgrade needed?
    I don’t NEED one necessarily but when has that stopped anyone?

I don’t dislike the Trance but I find it a little lifeless on descents. Could be due to the shitty fox 32 fork though. I’d like something a little lively on the way down. The 2x drivetrain is also getting worn out and I figure before dropping a bunch of money upgrading a 4 year old bike I may as well see what’s out there.

If you find the Trance to be lifeless, I would stay away from the VPP bikes (Bronson, Recluse). Which isn't to say they're bad bikes by any means, but I think it's easier to make other suspension designs feel poppy and playful. Of course, a lot of that just comes down to suspension setup, and buying something with better, more tunable suspension will make it a lot easier to set up any of those bikes however you want.