Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: A few questions

A few questions

Gents, different topic than your party,(I'd like to attend but, doubtful at this time, coming from Portland, etc. blah, blah), but, I'm seeking some advice. And, apologies for the verbosity; I just wrote off the top of my head.
    Edit: originally posted in the wrong forum.

My son and his friends are going backcountry skiing this coming weekend near Cooke City. This will be my son's second trip with his buds into the backcountry(did one a couple of weeks ago, somewhere S. of Bozeman-perhaps where the two were swept and killed back in. . Nov?).
    Apparently his friends have sleds, that is their access in, and, again, they are apparently experienced. They supplied my son with AT skis, etc. on previous trip. But, I don't, didn't really ask the DETAILS of his/their last trip. NOW, as they approach this Cooke City trip, the details,(me being a total novice backcountry skier, ie, nothing but spring/summer trips up Hood), the questions are flooding into my brain.
    I should preface this by saying my son, and presumably his friends, are all very competent resort skiers. My son has never had any avy class, though, etc. Doesn't own any gear, etc. His friends do, as mentioned above, and in my son's words regarding their last trip, and answering my inquiries, "we dug a pit," and "yes, they(friends), know what they're doing. I presume that they somewhat know what they're doing, But. . .
    I ask you, fellow TGRer's some of the following questions about the DETAILS that are flying into my concerned-parent's brain, and seek your opinions and insights. Any advice, etc. is much appreciated. Tell me if I'm just being paranoid, or, if these are legit questions to ask my son. . . Much obliged.

Questions I think I should ask(mostly based on what I've read):

1) How many in the group have actually had an avy class?
    2) Does every member have a transceiver, and is practiced in using it?