Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Ski Length

Ski Length

I'm relatively new to skiing (3 days in Colorado last winter and 3 days over Thanksgiving in Tahoe), but now that I live near Tahoe I plan on going more often. My friends roped me into getting a pair of skis and I bought some 170cm 2017 Volkl Kendo with Marker Griffons. I weigh 135lbs and am 5'9. When I used the skis over Thanksgiving at Kirkwood they felt heavy as shit and not as maneuverable as I wanted. Am now looking into getting a set of DPS F82 or F95 which I've heard good things about. Would like y'all's thoughts on whether I should cop 168cm or 178cm. I ski fairly aggressively even though it's hard to pick up speed with my weight. Will probably be doing 80/20 on-piste off-piste. What do all y'all think?

Nice try, but I really don't think anyone will bite.

As long as they're red you're good.
    Quote Originally Posted by Foggy_Goggles View Post
    If I lived in WA, Oft would be my realtor. Seriously.

Where in Tahoe?
    Well maybe I'm the faggot America
    I'm not a part of a redneck agenda

178cm

I'd say F95 in 178 if you feel inclined to get new skis. Have had Cassiar 95's as my carver for years, they can also handle shallow snow like a boss. A friend of mine has been a Kendo guy forever and I hear latest version is solid. Perhaps let your ability and leg strength build and stay pat. Are you an adult - do you expect to grow?

Six days in and you're buying DPS.

Oh dear.......

Edit: Are you putting tech binders on them?
    Quote Originally Posted by Downbound Train View Post
    And there will come a day when our ancestors look back...........

Quote Originally Posted by PNWbrit View Post

Oh dear.......

You know he is.

Quote Originally Posted by torn_acl View Post
    I weigh 135lbs and am 5'9.