Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Summer Practice

Summer Practice

I'm pretty new to the sport and was curious about how to get in practice during the warmer months. Do you just travel to where there's snow? I don't have the money to always travel but can make a few trips within the U.S. a year. Sorry for the rookie question but this part of the forum seemed the best place for it.

For general fitness, biking and hiking are good ways to keep the legs in shape. MTB also has the same spirit, and requires a similar mindset, to skiing IMO, and is a great way to stay out in the mountains and woods during the summer.

For skills like carving, we used to do dryland inline skating drills, back in my racing days. Skating down a low-traffic, steep, and freshly paved road actually feels a lot like ripping fresh groomers. I believe there are also some trampoline workouts you can do, as well as balance boards.

Leg press and ride a bike is my summer

Sent from my iPhone using TGR Forums

Furious masturbation
    Good for both aerobic activity and arm strength

If you've never played it before, soccer helps you learn how to use your feet independently, which is a necessary, though far from sufficient, condition for being good at skiing.

General strength training for your core and legs always helps.

Assuming we're talking about lift-served and not touring.
    "Alpine rock and steep, deep powder are what I seek, and I will always find solace there." - Bean Bowers

photos

Quote Originally Posted by TBS View Post
    Furious masturbation
    Good for both aerobic activity and arm strength
    Does it help with pole plants?

Two words: Skier's Edge.
    I'm on mine constantly in the summer.

^^^ lol. You are a hoot!

...Remember, those who think Global Warming is Fake, also think that Adam & Eve were Real...

Summer Practice

Lol. Not bad, troll. Wondering if you are someone else, just using an alias

Live in WA or CO. There is no off season