Thread: What To Buy?

What To Buy?

I'm looking to buy an all-Mtn FS bike to make local downhill singletacks a bit more enjoyable. I've been riding my XC-oriented hardtail for many years, and I need to mix it up.

I'm basically looking to spend 1k. My friends are all pointing me in the direction of a 2010(ish) SC Nomad. I thought I'd get your opinions of what to look for. I am assuming given my price range, I'll be looking at only aluminum frame and 26" wheels, which is fine.

What's your standover height?
    Well maybe I'm the faggot America
    I'm not a part of a redneck agenda

At that budget, the condition of the bike is realistically going to matter more than the model. With occasional exceptions, a well kept bike from any of the major brands is probably fine.

I'm 6'0 and literally a large with all frames, except Orbea.

Definitely be sure to get 26" wheels, they are by far the best.

However many are in a shit ton.

^^ Funny, I was just looking at that bike this morning.

Quote Originally Posted by supermodel159 View Post
    local downhill singletacks
    Where are you riding?

I agree that at $1000 you're more concerned about condition and components then exact brand or type of bike, but the terrain would factor heavily into what types of general geometry make the most sense.

I'll be there."
    ... Andy Campbell

Quote Originally Posted by supermodel159 View Post
    I'm looking to buy an all-Mtn FS bike to make local downhill singletacks a bit more enjoyable. I've been riding my XC-oriented hardtail for many years, and I need to mix it up.

I'm basically looking to spend 1k. My friends are all pointing me in the direction of a 2010(ish) SC Nomad. I thought I'd get your opinions of what to look for. I am assuming given my price range, I'll be looking at only aluminum frame and 26" wheels, which is fine.